happy/sad

Before I got laid off from my last job, right toward the end, I was working hard on a book I had discovered and done some major shaping on. Now, many moons later, that book is out and doing really, really well.

On the one hand, everyone who sees the acknowledgments page will see my name, so it doesn’t really matter where I’m working. It’s still my baby.

On the other hand, all the hard and good work I did–and all the money made off of that work–didn’t save me my job. Now other people are (if only by default) taking credit for that success, and reaping its rewards.

A hard thing about an industry of artistic contracts and revolving doors.

But there will be other books. And I am so happy for the author. One always fears for one’s authors in situations like these, that they might get neglected or even dropped. I’m glad that in this one case, at least, everything kept rolling, and that the author’s hard work paid off.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to happy/sad

  1. Wow, that really is bitter-sweet. Knowing your author appreciates all your hard work on his/her behalf is wonderful, but it still sucks the big kumara that so far as your bosses were concerned, it’s, “thanks for the money, honey. Buhbye.”

    I always feel sad about the whole revolving door thing in this business. Author/editor relationships are–or should be–far more than just business. When it’s good, it’s more like a partnership of soul-mates.

    I’m on my third editor. My 1st left before my book came out, and I was passed on to another, who worked with me to finish the process. Then, after I submitted my 2nd book, I was passed on to my current editor. I’ve learned so much from her working on “our” books. I’d be devastated if she left. I’m sure your author knows you put yourself through the wringer for her. And I’m sure your shiny new authors will adore you!

  2. emilycross says:

    *hugs*

    Small consolation but I imagine that author will always be extremely thankful for your consideration and care! Tis shit though that you weren’t kept, especially when your work was obviously excellent!

Leave a Reply

