slightly irritating email of the day

I got an email from an agent:

I have a great novel about [theme I am famously obsessed with] that was just rejected by [big respected publisher]. The editor at [big respected publisher] said that [my former employer] would be a good home for it. Could you please pass along a couple names of people I could submit to there?

Blarg this made me angry, briefly. Why didn’t the agent just pitch the book to me? Me, here, at my current employer? But I calmed down when I realized the editor at [big respected publisher] had probably been thinking of me, anyway, when s/he recommended [my former employer].

I’m over it, but my skin still itches a little. The important thing is, though, now (at least I hope) I will get the submission. Whatever faux pas got it to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to slightly irritating email of the day

  1. Karissa says:

    ew that would totally piss me off.

  2. Boo. I also find it rude that the agent asked you for names instead of figuring them out him/herself. Why exactly would you make time to help this agent unless the MS was being submitted to you? I don’t get it.

    At least you’re looking at the silver lining!

  3. Yeah, exactly, to both points. I mean, the obvious side point I didn’t add in the body of the post is that it kind of hurts that s/he prefers to submit to the company that laid me off instead of the great company I’m at now. Especially since it seems to me that the book fits equally well in either list.

    But anyway. Benefit of the doubt. I know it was misunderstanding/innocent ignorance. And have to stop getting riled by things like this. They are good for no one.

  4. JES says:

    I’m commenting too late here to do any good, but could you just have said, like, “Let me see the proposal; that way I can think of specific individuals it might be suitable for.” And if you yourself turned out to be one of them, perhaps the only one…. well, you’ve done everybody a favor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

