I have been gone for a long time.

I’m sorry. I’ve missed checking in but I wasn’t sure what to say.

A couple weeks ago my Monkey of more than 5 years and I went our separate ways. We are both heartbroken by this, perhaps in slightly different ways. The break was a loving one, which almost makes it more difficult. It is hard to remove your life from someone you love without ambivalence, whatever the practical implications. On top of the mourning is the detangling of 5 years of our lives. I’m 27 years old, and haven’t really lived as an adult without him.

Anyway, there’s not much else to say here that you can’t guess already. Thanks for being the kinds of friends I don’t mind sharing this with.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I have been gone for a long time.

  1. Heather says:

    I don’t really know what to say, either, other than I’m sorry. I’m sure it took a lot of courage. A lot of anguish. A lot of love. Good luck.

  2. You know I’m sending you lots of hugs.

    I’m just glad to see you here. You’ve been missed.

  3. JES says:

    Stricken. But so glad to see your byline and to know you are at least “okay,” if not exactly okay.

  4. Oh, sweetie. My heart is with you.

  5. Aww, sorry to hear it. Hope everything turns out for the best.

  6. Briony says:

    I am so sorry to hear that.
    Sending lots of hugs in your direction.

  7. God. I’m so so very sorry to read this. Doesn’t matter whether it was unexpected or not, an amiable mutual parting of the ways or not, it still hurts like hell. Sending you lots and lots and lots of hugs….

  8. thanks, guys. it’s a roller coaster 😦

  9. Tulsa says:

    I too am sorry to hear this…but you will figure things out. You are a talented, young, and kind person. Although it may not be an ideal time to visit Japan just yet…you have a country that could use a visit from you if you need some inspiration and loads of sushi to eat!

  10. I agree with Tulsa. And may I just add that you’re always welcome in Vermont. I can’t offer sushi, but we have fresh bread and cheese and it’s maple syrup season. Think about it…

  11. Jane Steen says:

    Sorry to hear it, but I’m glad it was amicable. You’re probably going to need a bit of a break to sort yourself out. Good luck.

  12. WendycinNYC says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this. I hope you’re okay, my dear. Let’s go out and cry over sushi when I get back in town…

  13. Simon Hay says:

    I’m sorry to hear that, I feel your pain. Love and hugs, Simon.

  14. Roberta says:

    Love to the both of you. Be good to yourself.

  15. *sending hugs and love*

    I’m glad you could see the right thing for you both, much as it might have hurt. ♥

Leave a Reply

