R&D

[jetlagged perfume shopping at 7am in Minneapolis]

Body Shop lady: Were you looking for more of a floral scent, or a citrus scent?

Yo: I like floral, I guess. Although I read somewhere that actually men are subconsciously more attracted to citrus scents.

BSL: No. Pie.

Yo: Sorry?

BSL: Men like women to smell like pie. Women come in here and buy the Moroccan Rose for themselves, or the Cherry Blossom, or the Love Etc. Men come in here to buy presents for their girlfriends or wives, and they always pick the vanilla, coconut, or chocolate. Or strawberry. I can only surmise they subconsciously like their women to smell like pie.

[file under: important market research]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to R&D

  1. JES says:

    I’ve heard about this. Also cinnamon. At food courts in malls across the country, unknowingly, thousands of men are getting juiced just from walking by the Cinnabon stand. And woe betide their innocent partners waiting at home, imagining their Prince Charmings will just walk in the door with giftwrap or flowers or whatever. They may be bearing those things, too, but in a goal-directed way if you know what I mean.

    Think this came out of a research study back in the ’90s. Of course, the way the world works, since then they’ve probably changed their little research-studyin’ minds.

  2. Wisteria789 says:

    I love my perfume that smells of apples, but my guy only likes my travel perfume (vanilla). Perhaps Jessica Simpson knows something Donna Karan does not.

  3. Wendy says:

    Maybe they are influenced by that Warrant video from ’91.

  4. pacatrue says:

    Maybe they are the safe scents. We know what those things are; we know they smell good. The scent of “Evanescence” however is unclear and a risk.

    Yes, I made up the name.

    And, hi, after several months.

  5. Roberta says:

    This is the most entertaining and funny blog post all month. Thank you. I laughed out loud and then read it to my husband. Pie is good.

Leave a Reply

