volubility

Today I went out to lunch with a (rather senior, well-known) agent.

At the end of the meal, he asked, “What is your ethnicity? You project an Italian volubility.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to volubility

  1. JES says:

    Volubility. For which the original Italian is charisma. 🙂

  2. Yay! Love it. I hope I receive that sort of compliment someday. Mostly I hear, “Oh, really? Half Italian? You don’t look it, but that DOES explain your temper.”

  3. Simon Hay says:

    I had to look this word up before I commented. When I was in NY State I had lots of new experiences with food – NYer’s do food like Aussies do alcohol – and watching how people communicate. Watching people! I’ve never heard anyone say volubility and I can’t say ethnicity without spitting. I loved the strong jaws and smiles on a lot of the women in NY. I’m not sure what their ethnicity was. It looks like you received a compliment 😉

  4. Briony says:

    I do like a compliment that requires a dictionary.

    And here I thought nothing would top a taxi driver telling my friend that he had a smile that would turn back the tide!

Leave a Reply

