freaking

I am doing my first-ever reading of my own writing tonight (well, first-ever minus two 5-minute open mics).

That’s where I’ve been for the last two weeks, btw. Worrying about the reading. What I would read. How it would sound. What if no one shows up. What if people show up. Etc.

I look forward to worrying about fresh things tomorrow. These are getting old.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to freaking

  1. Briony says:

    I’d love to say something helpful but speaking in public terrifies the hell out of me.

    All I can say is good luck, and when in doubt, hand them a sandwich – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bvPECCshIo

  2. Froog says:

    I don’t know about a sandwich, but cakes or cookies win people over very easily.

    I fell in love with a female rock band who handed out croissants to the audience before a show recently.

    Best of luck! I’m sure they’ll love you.

    And if you want to try a ‘proportionality worry’ (fixating on something really terrifying, to divert your mind from how terrifying the current thing is), imagine what it’s going to be like when you have to go on national television and talk about your book with Michael Chabon. Now that…

    • there was actually a red velvet cupcake theme in my story. but i was advised not to bring cupcakes, lest people think i needed to distract my audience from the quality of my work πŸ˜‰

      i did go buy some red velvet cupcakes for myself though.

  3. Ooh, a more-or-less first. Always scary. Hope your reading went well!

  4. JES says:

    Everything go okay? No hecklers, right???

  5. Woohoo!! I heard it was **fantastic** and I’m sad I couldn’t be there. Can’t wait to hear about the details.

    Nothing like getting to the point of, “I’ve worried about this for so long, I just don’t have the energy to worry about it anymore.” That’s my go-to strategy as well. It’s TOTALLY worth the weeks and weeks of unnecessary anxiety…

    • i wish there was a teleport so you could have been there easily! your feedback on that story definitely gave me the confidence boost i needed to get up and read it out loud. i really appreciate you πŸ™‚ i hope you already know that already, but i figure if i put it up on the internet on a public blog all of posterity will also have a record.

  6. Kelly says:

    Please. I happily listened for a whole bus-ride to Canada didn’t I? You’ll be amazing. Wish I could be there. Break a leg!

  7. Kelly says:

    Oops. I came to encourage too late.

Leave a Reply

