flute

Check this out.

My dad used to tell me flute was a boring instrument because it had the least dynamic variation and therefore less emotive capability. Be that as it may, THIS is not so boring!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to flute

  1. JES says:

    Okay, that was pretty mind-bending. (And I hope it won’t come across as creepy if I add: it helps that she’s so damned cute.)

    I did a search on “Three Beats for Beatbox Flute” and found that the piece itself was written by a performer/composer named Greg Patillo. At this page of his site, at the bottom he’s embedded a YouTube video which explains the “beatbox flute” idea. Clever, clever, clever!

  2. Froog says:

    Wow! Yes, she is unreasonably talented.

    The only guy I know who does anything like this is an experimental Chinese musician called Li Tieqiao, primarily a saxophonist but also plays a pretty mean flute. I’ve never seen him doing any of this beatboxing stuff, but he does use quite a lot of ‘percussive’ breath effects. I should try and get this video to him and see if it gives him some new ideas.

  3. Froog says:

    By the by, if you feel the urge to take a 5-minute break from the writing (or ‘proscratinate’, as it’s also known) this weekend, you might drop by my latest discussion point – What’s your unusual super-power?.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Froog says:

    Ooh, look who didn’t get enough sleep this week?!

    I just invented a new word: proscratinate really ought to mean something.

Leave a Reply

