what I read in 2011

Of little interest to anyone but me, but if you record it in public you get more credit for it, right?

1. Cara Black/Murder in Montmartre
2. Jassy Mackenzie/Stolen Lives
3. Cara Black/Murder on the Ile Saint-Louis
4. Cara Black/Murder in the Rue de Paradis
5. Cara Black/Murder in the Latin Quarter
6. Sherwood Smith/The Fox
7. Sherwood Smith/King’s Shield
8. Sara Gran/Come Closer
9. Liz Perle/Money: A Memoir
10. Brando Skyhorse/The Madonnas of Echo Park
11. Cindy Pon/Fury of the Phoenix
12. John Steinbeck/East of Eden
13. Colin Cotterill/Slash & Burn
14. Michael Chabon/The Yiddish Policemen’s Union (reread)
15. Raymond Carver/What We Talk about When We Talk about Love
16. Mary Gaitskill/Bad Behavior
17. Peter Lovesey/The Last Detective
18. Alice McDermott/Charming Billy
19. Henry Miller/Tropic of Cancer
20. Ernest Hemingway/The Sun Also Rises
21. Ali Smith/The First Person
22. Elizabeth Smart/By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept
23. Djuna Barnes/Nightwood
24. Jean Rhys/Quartet
25. Haruki Murakami/The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
26. John Williams/Stoner
27. Tina Fey/Bossypants
28. Alice La Plante/Turn of Mind
29. George R. R. Martin/Game of Thrones
30. Monique Truong/Bitter in the Mouth
31. Steig Larsson/The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
32. Deborah Feldman/Unorthodox
33. Andrea Levy/The Long Song
34. Aprilynne Pike/Illusions
35. Jeanette Winterson/Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit
36. Alex Shakar/Luminarium
37. Margot Livesey/The House on Fortune Street
38. William Styron/Darkness Visible
39. Rivka Galchen/Atmospheric Disturbances
40. Edward P. Jones/The Known World
41. Michael Chabon/A Model World
42. Gene Wolfe/The Island of Dr. Death
43. Jim Thompson/The Killer Inside Me
44. Andrey Kurkov/Death and the Penguin
45. Christopher Bataille/Annam
46. Irmgard Keun/After Midnight
47. Veronica Roth/Divergent
48. Laura Lippman/I’d Know You Anywhere
49. Kelly Link/Magic for Beginners
50. Edwidge Danticat/The Farming of Bones
51. Suzanne Collins/Hunger Games
52. Michael Chabon/Werewolves in Their Youth
53. Orson Scott Card/Ender’s Game

I won’t bore you with particulars, unless you want them. I did a lot less online reviewing because I realized I was too worried about being honest when the authors might end up reading what I wrote. But I miss the quick processing function of blog-reviewing, so I think I’m going to try to write stuff down in a less formal (more private?) way.

Reading Project 2012 is as of yet inchoate but probably features crime fiction heavily. I have a lot of catch-up to do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to what I read in 2011

  1. JES says:

    Cool. (He said, pretending not to be flabbergasted — and embarrassed by his own scrawny intake.) Were those all reading-for-pleasure titles, or does the list include books you read for work?

    • Um, mostly “pleasure” I guess. Although I’ve hog-tied myself with reading lists etc so sometimes things feel like work even when they shouldn’t.

      My work reading policy is that I don’t list anything in my log if it’s not in finished (published) state. So books I’m working on don’t make it. You’ll notice a lot of backlist reading of my company’s titles, which I listed because I figure I deserve credit! But I guess in the end that means I’ve also read a ton of books that will never be listed anywhere. Oh well.

  2. Did you like East of Eden? I have this strong, not entirely rational hatred for Steinbeck (aside from Of Mice and Men).

    • I did like it, yes. I didn’t love it, because at times it felt heavy-handed to me. (I’m a Steinbeck lover, btw.) But I think one thing I weirdly liked about it was it made me sympathize with Steinbeck. This was clearly a personal project for him–both (overly?) allegorical, so an axe he wanted to grind, and also perhaps autobiographical (he writes himself into the periphery of the novel throughout).

  3. cindy says:

    wow, we read almost the same number
    of books, but i skewed heavily YA as well as historical.
    here’s to more wonderful reading in 2012, juliet!
    have you read sarah waters? malinda turned me on
    to her and she is fantastic!

    • i have read ALL sarah waters. i LOVE her. my favorite is AFFINITY 🙂

      re: number: i try to read a book a week outside work. so 52 is a pretty standard yearly average. if i realize i’m falling behind, i, uh, sometimes start reading a bunch of short books to catch up. (le sigh.)

      • cindy says:

        Tipping the Velvet is mine.
        i just read Affinity this year. i enjoyed it but
        it was definitely more goth. i did love the twist tho.
        i also enjoyed Fingersmith. and i’ve just ordered The Night
        Watch. i’m trying to read slow so waters can hurry up
        and publish another novel. haha

  4. Wendy says:

    LOVED Farming of Bones. Did you like it? Right now I’m finally getting around to reading Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. Cutting edge, I know.

    • I had a LOT of trouble with Farming of Bones–I really didn’t like it at all and at about page 150 was about to give up. But then the voice started cohering for me and I was affected pretty strongly by the end of the book. (I think maybe my problem was the Sebastien love story–I didn’t buy him as a lover or like the passages with him in them; then, after he was gone, it suddenly struck a deep chord.)

      I loved Snow Flower. Although it’s a controversial one! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts.

  5. I love that we read the same number of books last year and do not have a single title in common. Mine are listed on my website as well. http://www.sandralambert.typepad.com/

  6. Briony says:

    Here’s my list! http://brionywilliamson.wordpress.com/book-list/2011-book-list/

    I didn’t count audiobooks though – one of the audiobooks I listened to this year was Bossypants. Tina Fey is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

