whoops

I have been asked by several people if I am dead. I am not dead! But thank you for your concern. I’m just in a period of disorganization and bad time management. Sorry.

I have also not done my taxes either.

Apologies to everyone whose blog I’ve been neglecting lately. I’m doing a lot of Google feed reading and not so much commenting or writing.

But here are some random things in the meantime!

This is a great Oscar-season reminder of the Bechdel test–which of the Oscar nominees pass (sadly few), and why it’s an important thing to think about as media consumers.

Here is Oprah doing a skit called Book Club Fight Club.

Oh! I forgot to post here. I was on a podcast talking about my crime read-along. This is 30 minutes long though so please don’t listen if you have better things to do.

This is Itzhak Perlman playing Sarasate’s Zigeunerweisen, which I have been listening to on endless loop while editing lately.

Sorry for a dumb post. More soon! I hope.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to whoops

  1. JES says:

    I am so glad you’re not dead. ( <- world's worst bar pickup line)

    And really? One person's bad time management and lazy blogging habits is another's expansive intellect and wide-ranging curiosity. So, who's to judge?

    That was an outstanding video (re: Bechdel test/Hollywood) posted at Jennifer Ambrose's blog. Thanks for pointing us to it.

    I did listen to quite a bit (but not all!) of your podcast after you mentioned it on Twitter. Mostly, I admit, it was curiosity which lured me to it first: I bet she speaks at about 120 words per minute, doesn’t she? (I picture you having the metabolism of an anxious gerbil.) But the content itself kept me on the page, so to speak, until I got interrupted by Outside Forces.

  2. *waves* Hi! We miss you!!

    (JES, glad you liked the Bechdel video…I’m pretty sure I got that from George Takei’s Facebook page. He posts some great stuff.)

  3. How great to hear your voice. It is as I imagined it – brimming and eager. And persuasive. That part where you talked about what genre fiction satisfies has me off to the library to track down Murders in the Rue Morgue. I’m in on the read-along.

  4. JES says:

    P.S. If your crime-a-thon list isn’t closed yet…

    In cleaning out my wallet recently, I found a Post-It I’d made for myself a few years ago, including the names of some international crime writers. The names came from an article (“Blood on the Borders”) in a 2007 issue of The New Yorker — which doesn’t seem to be behind their paywall!

    It’s a good article, worth a read for itself, but if you’re pressed for time, the names I wrote down were: Ian Ranking (Scotland); Donna Leon (Italy); Michael Dibdin (also Italy); Andrea Camilleri (Sicily); Massimo Carlotto (Italy again!); John Banville (writing as Benjamin Black, of Ireland); and Gene Kerrigan (Ireland).

Leave a Reply

